Well, here it is……Merry Christmas!

Standard

Not for the partners, siblings, children and families of those who are addicted to alcohol, it isn’t!

This is the worst time of year for us. This is ‘traditionally’ the day I would get up, feeling that all hope was gone and that I was losing the one person I loved more than anything – the very person with whom I wanted to spend Christmas. Sure, you can set aside your worries for a day and enjoy a drink with the alcoholic, but when you stop and they go on, the misery returns. It’s a lonely life.

But I haven’t set up this blog to revisit the misery my husband and I have endured for over twenty years. I’ve set it up to challenge all of the misinformation and unecessary (yes, completely unecessary) suffering that alcoholics and their families have been put through for decades.

With the New Year comes hope, and there is hope out there.

Let me begin to explain in my next post. In the meantime, make the most of your Christmas Day – whatever that means for you, and I send you love and understanding. You AND your alcoholic.

Leave a Reply

